My Soul Finds Rest….

A draft from a year or so ago…publishing now.

“My soul finds rest in God alone; my salvation comes from him” (Ps. 62:1).

Recently I’ve sensed God’s invitation to……to rest.  To be still.  To slow down. To trust. To refocus.  To breathe.  To be.  To be in His presence.   He is calling.  Anita, venga.  You are safe in my loving arms.  Rest.

The last month or so has been somewhat of a whirlwind. As my patience has been on the thinner side at work and my back is full of knots, I’m getting quite close to the end of my rope.

Yet, I don’t want to snap!

I don’t want to be impatient.  I don’t want the thought of how tired or stressed I am to be on the forefront of my mind.  I don’t want my tone of voice to unintentionally come out rude because I’m just that exhausted.

Instead, I want to thrive.  I want to be full of life.  I desire to be a sweet fragrance wherever I go.

How to get from point A to point B?

God is inviting me to rest.

It is easy to be deceived into thinking that rest is equivalent to sleep.  Although, sleep is important, I need rest for my soul and I’m reminded this morning that the only place I will find rest for my soul is in God.  The only place I will truly be re-energized is in God.  The only place I will ever blossom and become the woman He has created me to be is in continually growing in intimate relationship with my Heavenly Father.

My soul finds rest in God alone;

my salvation comes from Him.

After-all, my only comfort in life and in death is that I belong to my faithful Savior Jesus Christ.

“Comfort” is a word that is often associated with “rest.” “Comfort”, in earthly terms, encourages “rest”, in earthly terms.

On the other hand, “comfort” in heavenly terms (knowing one’s belonging to Christ) encourages “rest” in heavenly terms (rest in God).

This week, my prayer is not that I will get 8 hours of sleep every night, but that I will rest in God in the comfort that is offered in His salvation.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-RaHjD-XEyk&index=5&list=PLwJGg5LfmOt7WQ9y2r9Ekv3UsnkXVEdNC

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment